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A Autonomous Vehicle Branch

The Autonomous Vehicle Branch of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) oversees and
regulates autonomous vehicle testing and deployment on California roads. AV File is DMV’s
new online portal to assist manufacturers who are applying for a testing permit.

Autonomous Vehicle Branch

Making it easier to do business in California by encouraging innovation
and providing professional, accurate, consistent, and timely service.

Follow DMV on Social Media

Sign up for e-alerts from the Autonomous Vehicle Branch
by visiting dmv.ca.gov/eAlerts ﬁ g @ G




How to Apply for the Autonomous
Vehicle Tester (AVT) Program

Thank you for your interest in applying for the AVT
Program to conduct autonomous vehicle (AV) testing
on California public roads.

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) encourages
innovation and supports California by administer-

ing the AV program set forth in Vehicle Code (VC)
838750 and California Code of Regqulations (CCR)
Article 3.7

There are three permits manufacturers can apply for:
1. AVT Manufacturer’s Tester Permit with Driver
2. AVT Manufacturer’s Tester Permit -
Driverless Vehicles
3. Approval to Deploy Autonomous Vehicles
on Public Roads

In this brochure we will address the AVT permit with a
driver only.

This document should be used as a general overview
to help you broadly assess how to apply for a permit
in California. Be sure to check specific rules and
regulations for the type of permit you are applying
for, and any other agency’s requirements regarding
the testing of AVs on California roads. Should you
have any questions about the program, email
autonomousvehicles@dmv.ca.gov

An “Applying for an AVT permit Checklist” is provided
at the end of this brochure to help you be successful
in the process.


https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=38750
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=38750
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/06/Adopted-Regulatory-Text-2019.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/06/Adopted-Regulatory-Text-2019.pdf
mailto:mailtoo:Autonomousvehicles%40dmv.ca.gov?subject=
mailto:mailtoo:Autonomousvehicles%40dmv.ca.gov?subject=

Before Applying for an
AVT Program Driver Permit

1. AV Testing: The manufacturer has tested the AVs under controlled conditions that simulate, as closely as
practicable, each Operational Design Domain (ODD) in which the manufacturer intends the vehicles to operate
on public roads and has reasonably determined it is safe to operate the vehicles in each ODD.

Reference: CCR Title 13, Article 3.7, §227.18 (b)

2. AV Test Driver: The manufacturer must provide the AV driver information, which includes their true full
name, driver's license number, and state issued. Prior to starting their application online, all AV drivers must be
enrolled in the Employer Pull Notice (EPN) Program and provide the date of enrollment.

The manufacturer must certify on the application that the AV test driver meets the following requirements:

+ Has been licensed to drive a motor vehicle for the  « Was not convicted for driving or operating a

3 years immediately preceding the application. vehicle under the influence of alcohol or any

- Does not have more than 1 violation drug, nor had their driver’s license suspended
point count. or revoked within 10 years immediately

- Was not at-fault in a motor vehicle accident that preceding the application.
resulted in injury or death of any person. + Has completed the manufacturer’s AV test driver

training program and provided the completion
date of the program.

References: CCR Title 13, Article 3.7, §227.32 and 227.34; VC §12810 (a), (b), (c), (d), (€, (9), or (h)

3. AV Test Driver Training Program: The manufacturer must provide and maintain a training program for its

AV test drivers. The manufacturer will need to provide DMV with a course outline and description of the AV
test driver training program.

References: CCR Title 13, Article 3.7, §227.36 & CVC §38750

4. Evidence of Insurance: The manufacturer must provide evidence of financial responsibility in the amount of
$5,000,000. The manufacturer must satisfy this requirement by one of the following:

« Providing evidence of the existence of an instrument of insurance (§227.08).
« Providing evidence of surety bond and submitting it to DMV on the Autonomous Vehicle Manufacturer
Surety Bond (OL 317) form (§227.10).

« Applying for a certificate of self-insurance using the Autonomous Vehicle Tester (AVT) Program Application
for Certificate of Self-Insurance (OL 319) form (§227.12).

References: CCR Title 13, Article 3.7, §227.06 and 227.14; VC §38750(b)(3)


https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/ol317.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/ol317.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/ol319.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/ol319.pdf

5. Autonomous Test Vehicles Identification: The manufacturer must provide DMV the identification of the
autonomous vehicle to be used for testing on public roads, which includes the following:
- Make
« Model
« Model year
« Vehicle identification number (VIN)
« License plate number and state of issuance
« Other identifying information if none of the above are available

Vehicle Registration Requirements: If your test vehicles are not operating under manufacturer or
distributor plates (issued by Occupational Licensing or a state where a reciprocal agreement exists), they
are required to have current California registration. Register autonomous test vehicles, by submitting the
following documents:
« The California Certificate of Title.
olf the title was lost, submit an Application for Duplicate or Transfer of Title (REG 227).
- A Statement of Facts (REG 256) form from the manufacturer that:
o Certifies the vehicle will be operated for testing purposes only.
oProvides a brief description of the autonomous technology or features integrated into the vehicle and
the functional capabilities made possible by this technology.

Reference: CCR Title 13, Article 3.7, §227.16 and 227.52; VC §4150, 672, and 5902
Out-of-State Vehicle Information
To Learn How To: Register a Vehicle From Out of State.

PDF Version

FFVR 29 Buying a Vehicle From Out of State — Can You Register It In California?

Vehicles Imported from Another Country
To Learn How To: Register a Vehicle Imported From Another Country

6. Employer Pull Notice (EPN) Program: Manufacturers will need to enroll in the EPN Program. Once
enrolled in the EPN Program you will need to enroll the autonomous vehicle test driver or remote operator.

To expedite your enrollment in the EPN Program, mail your application to:

Department of Motor Vehicles

Unit Manager, Employee Pull Notice

2415 1st Avenue MS H264

Sacramento, CA 95818 (Courier Service Delivery Only)

Reference: CCR Title 13, Article 3.7, §227.24

7. Secretary of State: Manufacturers will need to provide a copy of articles of incorporation, corporate minutes,
or other document filed with the Secretary of State, which identifies the officers, shareholders, and managers
(if filing as a corporation, limited liability company, or limited liability partnership owned business).


https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/vehicle-registration/new-registration/
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/06/reg227.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/06/reg256-1.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/htvr9.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/driver-education-and-safety/educational-materials/fast-facts/buying-a-vehicle-from-out-of-state-can-you-register-it-in-california-ffvr-29/
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/how-to-9-register-a-vehicle-from-out-of-state-nonresident-vehicle/
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/vehicle-industry-services/motor-carrier-services-mcs/employer-pull-notice-epn-program/

Applying for an AVT Permit Driver
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1. Ready to Apply: When you have gathered all necessary requirements and are ready to apply, complete the
Autonomous Vehicle Tester (AVT) Program Application for Manufacturer’s testing Permit (OL 311) online.
You will be able to upload all necessary documents.

- If you are unable to acknowledge any of the statements in Section 4, upload a Statement of Facts

(REG 256) form describing N/A.

2. Application Fees: The annual fee of $3600 is a nonrefundable application fee which can be paid online via
e-check or credit card. A 2.3% service fee will be charged for every credit/debit card transaction. Visa,
Mastercard, American Express, and Discover are accepted credit cards. Debit cards with a Visa or Mastercard
logo are also accepted. The annual fee includes permits for 10 vehicles and 20 drivers/operators per
application. An additional fee of $50 is required to add an additional 10 vehicles and 20 drivers/operators
to a testing permit.

3. Application Process: Upon receipt of the OL 311, DMV will notify the manufacturer within 10 days of receipt of
the application whether it is complete, or it is determined to be deficient. Processing time may vary depending
on the completeness of the application and/or if it is deficient. During the application process, DMV may request
a phone conference with the manufacturer for any clarifications.

4. Application Approved: If the application is approved, DMV will issue an Autonomous Vehicle Testing (AVT)
Program Manufacturer Permit (OL 315) (NEW 9/2013) and the manufacturer can begin testing on California
public roads.

5. Application Deficient: If the application is deficient, DMV will notify the manufacturer of any deficiency and
allow the manufacturer to correct the deficiency. At which time, DMV will review the material submitted to
correct the application deficiency to determine if the application is sufficient. If DMV determines the
application remains deficient, DMV will notify the manufacturer of the continuing deficiency. DMV will deny an
application if the manufacturer fails to make the application sufficient after a reasonable opportunity to do so.

6. Approved AVT Driver: If the AVT driver meets the requirements of Article 3.7 §227.34, DMV will issue an
Autonomous Vehicle Testing (AVT) Program Test Vehicle Operator Permit (OL 314) (NEW 9/2013) to the driver.
If the AVT driver does not meet the requirement of Article 3.7 §227.34, DMV will notify the manufacturer.

7. Application Permit Term: The Manufacturer’s Testing Permit is valid for a period of 2 years from midnight to the
last day of the month of issuance.
+ Keep a copy of all documents for your records.


https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv-virtual-office/autonomous-vehicle-testing/
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/06/reg256-1.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/06/reg256-1.pdf

After Applying for an AVT Permit Driver

1. Financial Responsibility: Manufacturers are required to maintain in their autonomous test vehicles a copy of
proof of insurance or a copy of the bond, when the manufacturer relies upon a bond to comply with the
requirements of VC §38750(b)(3).

2. Changes or Modifications: Manufacturers must notify DMV within 10 days of any changes to the contact
information or the name of the manufacturer. The request of the change must be in writing on the
manufacturer’s letterhead, including changes in contact names, telephone numbers, or mailing addresses.

If a manufacturer has any changes or modifications to the Manufacturer’s Testing Permit during the term of the
permit, submit a revised OL 311 and the $70 fee for the processing of the modification.

3. Renewal: The Manufacturer’s Testing Permit is valid for a period of 2 years. Manufacturers who choose to
renew their permit can submit the completed OL 311 to DMV and the $3600 biennial renewal fee 60 days prior
to the expiration date.

* DMV can refuse a permit for renewal if the manufacturer or one of its agents, employees, contractors, or
designees has violated VC §38750 or Title 13, Division 1, Chapter 1, Article 3.7, and for any act or omission
which DMV finds makes the conduct of autonomous vehicle testing on public roads by the manufacturer
an unreasonable risk to the public.

* DMV will provide the manufacturer a written notice of a refusal as specified in California Government
Code §11504.


https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv-virtual-office/autonomous-vehicle-testing/autonomous-vehicle-testing-form/
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv-virtual-office/autonomous-vehicle-testing/autonomous-vehicle-testing-form/

4. Keeping a Permit Active: DMV can suspend or revoke the Manufacturer’'s Testing Permit if the manufacturer:
- Has failed to maintain their financial responsibility current.
+ Has violated VC §38750 or Title 13, Division 1, Chapter 1, Article 3.7.
+ Or one of its agents, employees, contractors, or designees performs any act or omission which DMV finds
makes the conduct of autonomous vehicle testing on public roads by the manufacturer an unreasonable

risk to the pubilic.
« DMV will provide a 15-day written notice of a suspension or revocation specified in California Government

Code §11505. However, DMV shall immediately suspend or revoke the permit if the manufacturer is
engaging in a practice in such a manner that immediate suspension is required for the safety of persons
on a public road.

5. Reinstatement of Testing Permit: When the Manufacturer’s Testing Permit (OL 315) has been suspended
or revoked, the manufacturer shall cease all testing of autonomous vehicles on public roads until DMV has
verified the manufacturer has taken appropriate action to correct the deficiencies that caused the suspension
or revocation and DMV has lifted the suspension or revocation.

6. Reporting Collisions: Manufacturers are required to report to DMV any autonomous vehicles in the program
that are involved in a collision originating from the operation of the autonomous vehicles on a public road that
result in property damage, bodily injury, or death within 10 days after the collision, on a Report of Traffic
Accident Involving an Autonomous Vehicle (OL 316) form.

7. Reporting Disengagement of Autonomous Mode: The manufacturer is required to prepare and submit to
DMV an annual report by January 1st of each participating year in the program. The report shall include data
related to the disengagement of the autonomous mode. It must track how often their vehicles disengage from
autonomous mode, whether that disengagement is the result of technology failure, or situations requiring the
test driver to take manual control of the vehicle to operate safely.

Reporting Dates:

« The manufacturer’s first report will cover the period from the date the permit was issued to November 30th
of the following year (when a manufacturer has a driver and driverless permit, they can submit a single
report that makes it clear which disengagements occurred under each type of testing permit).

« After the first year and thereafter, the annual report will cover the period December 1st of the current year to
November 30th of the following year.

Reporting Details:
The annual report should summarize disengagements as follows:
« The report will specify whether the test vehicle is capable of operating without a driver.
 The report will include the location: interstate, freeway, highway, rural road, street, or parking facility.
- During the disengagement the report will include if the vehicle was operating with or without a driver.
« A detailed description written in non-technical language of the facts causing the disengagements.
« The report will include “who” or “what” initiated the disengagement (autonomous technology, autonomous
vehicle test driver, remote operator, or passenger).
« The report will include the total number of miles each autonomous vehicle tested in autonomous mode on
public roads for each month.

The report will be submitted to DMV on the Annual Report of Autonomous Vehicle Disengagement (OL 311R).



https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/ol316.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/ol316.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/ol311r.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/04/ol311r.pdf

Removal of Test Drivers and Test Vehicles from the Program

Upon completion of the program no person will sell, transfer, or dispose of the autonomous test vehicle, or any
major component parts that have been used for testing purposes on public roads except as follows:
- To a manufacturer holding a valid autonomous vehicle manufacturer’s testing permit or a manufacturer’s
testing permit — driverless vehicles.
« The manufacturer disposing of the vehicle has obtained a Nonrepairable Vehicle Certificate (REG 488C)
ensuring that the vehicle is not retitled or resold. At that point:
o Ownership of the vehicle can be transferred to an auto dismantler.
o The manufacturer can dismantle or dispose of the vehicle and its major component parts.
« The manufacturer has transferred ownership to an educational or research institution or a museum for
display or study.

Removing Drivers and Vehicles from Permit
To remove an autonomous vehicle and/or AVT driver from an Autonomous Vehicle Testing (AVT) Program
Manufacturer Permit, review the AVT Cancellation - AVIM 2020-02.



https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/03/reg488c.pdf
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/uploads/2020/06/AVIM-2020-02-AVT-Cancellation.pdf

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Applying for an Autonomous
mmemaneee Vehicle Tester Permit Checklist

Before Applying

1. Certify the autonomous vehicle has been tested under controlled conditions that simulate,
as closely as practical to each Operational Design Domain (ODD) planning to test and has
reasonably determined it is safe to operate the vehicles in each ODD.

2. Register in the Employee Pull Notice (EPN) Program and obtain your EPN number.
Then enroll test drivers in the EPN program.

3. Prepare and provide the autonomous vehicle test driver training program.

4. Provide evidence of liability.

5. Register the autonomous vehicle tester and ensure all vehicle registration requirements
are met.

6. Register with the Secretary of State and provide required documents.

After Applying

1. Ensure financial responsibility is active during participation of program.

2. If you need to make changes or modify your existing application, complete an OL 311 and
pay the fees.

3. Submit your OL 311 and pay the fees on time before expiration of permit.

4. Review compliance regulations regularly to avoid suspensions or revocation of the
Manufacturer’s Testing Permit.

5. Report collisions to DMV within 10 days by completing an OL 316.

6. Report disengagement reports yearly, due January 1st.




DMV USE ONLY
AVT NUMBER

A Public Service Agency

NAME

DATE FERMIT ISSUED| DATE PERMIT EXFIRES

AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE TESTER (AVT) PROGRAM
APPLICATION FOR MANUFACTURER’S TESTING PERMIT TOTAL FEE RECEIPT NUMBER

APPLICATION TYPE:

[ ] Original $3,600

L] Renewal $3,600

[ ] Modification $70
Additional Permits $50

CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOX:

L] Address Change L] Authorized Representative L] Driver L] Vehicles

INSTRUCTIONS:
o Please complete online or print and complete by hand using black or blue ink.
* Submit completed and signed form and fees to: Department of Motor Vehicles, Autonomous Vehicle Branch,
2415 1%t Avenue, MS D405, Sacramento, CA 95818

SECTION 1 — AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE TESTER INFORMATION

MAME OF MANUFACTURER EFN NUMBER

BUSIMESS MAME SECRETARY OF STATE ENTITY NUMEBER
BUSINESS NAME LICENSED BY DMV TELEFPHONE NUMBER

STREET ADDRESS CITY ETATE ) ZIFCODE
MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFEREMT FROM STREET ADDRESS) CITY STATE ZIP CODE

Company’s-training, testing, and employment records are kept at: "] Additional pages(s) attached.
FACILITY NAME

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

FACILITY NAME

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIF CODE

SECTION 2 — VEHICLES EQUIPPED FOR TESTING List all vehicles in fieet.

Number of vehicles in fleet

PLATE NUMBER STATE SSUED VINNUMEER YEAR MARE MODEL oo
L] commercia

PLATE NUMBER STATE BELED VIN NMEBER YEAR MARE MODEL e
COMMERCILAL"

PLATE NUMBER STATE ISSUED VIN NUMBER YEAR MAKE MODEL Pl
COMMERCIAL®

FLATE NUMBER STATE SEUED VIN NUMEER YEAR MAKE MODEL O avro
[ ] commercias

FLATE MUMEER ETATE IE2UED VIN MUMBER TEAR MAKE MODEL I—I AITO
COMMERCIAL®

. T O



DMV USE ONLY
AVT NUMBER
NAME
SECTION 2 — VEHICLES EQUIPPED FOR TESTING Continued
FLATE NUMBER STATE ISELIED Vi MUMEER TEAR MAKE MODEL |_! AUTO
L] commerciaL:
FLATE NUMBER STATE I55UED VIN NUMBER YEAR MAKE MODEL -
L] commerciaLs
PLATE NUMBER STATE ISSUED VIN NUMBER YEAR MAKE MODEL i
COMMERCIALT
PLATE NUMBER STATE ISELUED Vi NUMBER YEAR MAKE MODEL U}'\UTU
COMMERCIAL®
PLATE NUMBER ETATE ISSUED VIN NUMBER YEAR MAKE MODEL E e
L] commerciaLs

* Refer to excluded vehicle list CCR 227.28

SECTION 3 — AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE DRIVER List alf employees, contractors and designees.

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOEER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

FRINT TRUE FULL NaME (L 45T, FIRST, MIDOLE) DRIVER L ICENSE NUMEBER STATE1SSUED
TRAINING COMPLETION DATE DATE ENROLLEBIREME LCYER PULL NOT ICE PROGR AM
PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDOLE) DRIVER LICFNSE NUMBER: SIATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATEENROLLED IN EMFLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DR IVER LICENSE NUMBET

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATE'ENROLEEDVIRE MPLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRET, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE NUMEER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPRELION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE FROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME(LAST, FIRST, MAQDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLET IGNDATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

FRINT TRUE FULL NAME [LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE PFROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICEMSE NUMEBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

Page 2 of 5
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AVT NUMBER

NAME

SECTION 3 — AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE DRIVER Continued

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE MUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAIMING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL MOTICE PROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRET, MIDOLE) DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER STATE ISSUED
TRAIMNING COMPLETION DATE DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM
PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRET, MIDDLE) DRIVER LICENSE MNUMBER STATE ISSLEED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

STATELSSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER FUELNG TICE PROGRAM

FRINT TRUE FULL NAME ({ AST, FIRST, MiDDLE)

DRIVER LICERNSE NUMEBER

STATE 153UED

TRAIMING COMFLETION DATE

CwTE ENROLLEDHN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE FROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME {LAST, FIRET, MIDOLE)

CRIVER LIGENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMFLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE FROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LIGENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMBLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE FROGRAM

PRINT TRUE RUELNBME (LA ST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION TWATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL MOTICE PROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (A ST,_SIRST, M/00LE)

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAINING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

DRIVER LICENSE NLIMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAIMING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL MOTICE FROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

CRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

STATE ISSUED

TRAIMING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PLILL NOTICE PROGRAM

PRINT TRUE FULL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDOLE)

DRIVER LICEMSE NUMEER

STATE ISSUED

TRAIMING COMPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL MOTICE PROGRAM

FRINT TRUE FULL NAME {LAST, FIRET, MIDOLE)

DRIVER LICEMSE NUMEER

STATE ISSLED

TRAIMING COMFPLETION DATE

DATE ENROLLED IN EMPLOYER PULL NOTICE PROGRAM

OL 311 {REV 772020) WWW
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AT NUMBER

NAME

SECTION 4 — APPLICANT ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

INITIALS

1. Theautonomous vehicle is being operated on public roads in California solely by employees, contractors,
or other persons designated by the manufacturer of the autonomous technology. CCR 227.26(a)

2. The autonomous vehicle has been tested under controlled conditions that simulate as closely as
practicable, each operational design domain in which the manufacturer intends the vehicle to operate
and has reasonably determined that is safe to operate the vehicles in each operational design domain.
CCR 22718(b)

3. Test drivers have completed the autonomous vehicle test driver training pregram and a copy of the
course outline and description has been provided as an attachment to this application. CCR 227.36

4. The autonomous vehicle test driver is either in immediate physical control of the vehicle or is
actively monitoring the vehicle's operations and is capable of taking over immediate physical control.
CCR 227.32(a)

5. The autonomous vehicle test driver knows the limitations of the vehicle’s autonomous technology and
is capable of safely operating the vehicle in all conditions under which the vehicle is tested on public
roads. CCR 227.32(d)

6. The autonomous vehicle has a mechanism to engage and disengage the autonomous technology that
is easily accessible to the operator. CVC 38750

7. The autonomous vehicle has a visual indicator inside the cabin to indicate when the autonomous
technology is engaged. CVC 38750

8. The driver will be seated in the driver's seat and has been identified in'this application, and provided
training as outlined in the training materials submitted with this application. CVC 38750

9. The applicant for an autonomous vehicle testing program permit shall maintain records confirming
all driver/foperator(s) driver license record is in compliance with the good driver criteria and shall
immediately remove such drivers from the testing program upon notification that the driver no longer
qualifies for participation in the program. CVC 38750

10. Any accident criginating from the operation of the vehicle on public roads that resulted in the damage
of property or in bodily injury or death shall be reported to the department, within 10 days. CCR 227.48

11. Upon receipt of a Manufacturer’s Testing Permit to conduct the testing on public roads of vehicle, data
related to the disengagement of the autonomous mode will be retained for the purposes of submitting
an annual report to the department. CCR 227.50

12. Autcnomous test vehicles will not be permitted to operate on public roads when members of the
public that are not employees, contractors, or designees of the manufacturer are charged a fee or the
manufacturer receives compensation for providing a ride to members of the public. CCR 227 26(f)

13. Autcnomous test vehicles will not be permitted to operate on public roads when members of the public
are charged a fee or the manufacturer receives compensation for transporting property in motortrucks.
CCR 227.28(g)

SECTION § — ATTACHMENTS

INITIALS

1. Evidence of insurance, Surety Bond (OL 317), or Application for Self-Insurance (OL 319) in the amount
of five million dollars ($5,000,000). CCR 227.04(c)

2. Copy of course outline and description of the autonomous vehicle test driver training program. CCR 227.36

Page 40f 5 OL 311 (REV. 7/2020) W



SECTION 6 — CERTIFICATION

AT NUMEBER

A

PV - \ \ 4

NAME

! certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true

and correct.

I further certify that | am the authorized Administrator of the program for the above named empioyer.

PROGRAM DIRECTOR/AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE PRINTEDGNAME ANDTITLE

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

SIGNATURE DATE SIGNED
STREET ADDRESS ciTY STATE ZIP CODE
EMAIL ADDRESS FAX MUIMBER TELEPHOME NUMEBER

()

C )

OL 311 {REV 772020) WWW
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