
REG 168 (REV. 1/2019) WWW 
(Front – Over $4,000)

CERTIFICATION OF LIEN SALE FOR VEHICLE OVER $4000 OR 
FROM A SELF-SERVE STORAGE FACILITY

CIVIL CODE §3071

NOTE TO THE LIENHOLDER:
This vehicle must be kept in your possession for a 10-day redemption period after the sale. If the vehicle is not redeemed, complete this form and give it to the buyer. Retain a copy 
to submit to DMV with any excess fees. If the vehicle is not sold because a qualifying bid was not received, the lienholder becomes the buyer indicated on the Certificate of Sale 
section. When this vehicle is sold, complete a bill of sale and give both forms to the buyer, remove and destroy the vehicle's license plate(s), and within 5 days of sale, submit a 
completed Notice of Release of Liability (NRL) form to the department. All registration fees and penalties become due and payable on the lien sale date.

VEHICLE 
DESCRIPTION

LICENSE NUMBER STATE REGISTERED LICENSE EXPIRATION DATE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN)

MAKE YEAR MODEL BODY TYPE ENGINE NUMBER (MOTORCYCLE ONLY)

AUTHORITY 
TO CONDUCT 

LIEN SALE

DATE VEHICLE CAME INTO MY POSSESSION DATE OWNER BILLED FOR SERVICES/STORAGE DATE WORK OR SERVICES COMPLETED IF AUTHORIZED BY A PUBLIC AGENCY, OR PURSUANT TO 
CVC §22658, DATE VEHICLE WAS TOWED

�� In accordance with Civil Code §3071, I received authorization from DMV to hold the lien sale for the above described vehicle.

NOTICE OF 
PENDING SALE

�� In accordance with Civil Code §3071, Notices of Pending Sale were mailed to the registered and legal owners of record, interested parties and DMV, 
20 days prior to the lien sale.
(Postal receipts or postal listing sheet must be attached.)

PUBLICATION 
OF SALE

�� The sale was advertised at least 5 days, but not more than 20 days, prior to the sale.
NEWSPAPER NAME (PLEASE PRINT) DATE ADVERTISED PAGE ADVERTISEMENT APPEARED

�� No newspaper is published in the county where the lien sale was held. Notices of Pending Sale were posted at three public locations in the town 
where the vehicle was located.

CERTIFICATE 
OF SALE

The above described vehicle was 
sold on:

MONTH DAY YEAR

BUYER’S TRUE FULL NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

ACCOUNTING OF 
THE LIEN SALE 

AND PROCEEDS

NOTE: If vehicle retained by lienholder, complete number 2 only.
1. The vehicle was sold for:  $ 
2. The billing and costs were:

A. TOWING  $ 

B. STORAGE  $ 

C. REPAIRS  $ 

D. COST OF SELLING (CANNOT EXCEED $100) $ 

TOTAL OF 2 (ADD A THROUGH D)  $ 

3. PARKING VIOLATIONS  $ 

4. EXCESS FEES* (LINE 1 MINUS TOTAL OF 2 AND 3)  $ 
*EXCESS FEES MUST BE SUBMITTED TO DMV WITH A COMPLETED COPY OF THIS FORM WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THE SALE DATE.

CERTIFICATION

LIENHOLDER’S NAME (PRINT) TELEPHONE NUMBER

(    )
STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

AGENT ACTING FOR LIENHOLDER (PRINT NAME) REGISTRATION SERVICE NUMBER TELEPHONE NUMBER

(    )
STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. I further 
certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury that the lien sale was conducted in accordance with the requirements of California Military 
and Veterans Code §§407, 408, 409.1, and 409.3, and with the requirements of §§3952, 3953, and 3958 of Title 50 of the United States Code.   
DATE LIENHOLDER’S OR AGENT’S (ACTING FOR LIENHOLDER) SIGNATURE

X

A Public Service Agency

LIEN SALE UNIT 
P.O. BOX 932317 
SACRAMENTO, CA 94232-3170


	P1-1-States: 
	P1-1-Lic Exp Date: 
	P1-1-VIN: 
	P1-1-Make: 
	P1-1-Year: 
	P1-1-Model: 
	P1-1-Body type: 
	P1-1-Eng No (M/C only): 
	P1-2-Date Veh into possession: 
	P1-2-Date owner billed: 
	P1-2-Date work-serv completed: 
	P1-2-Date veh towing-Public agency: 
	P1-1-Lic No: 
	P1-5-Year: 
	P1-5-Day: 
	NEWSPAPER NAME PLEASE PRINT: 
	DATE ADVERTISED: 
	PAGE ADVERTISEMENT APPEARED: 
	P1-5-Buyers full name: 
	P1-5-Address: 
	P1-5-City: 
	P1-5-States: 
	P1-5-Zip Code: 
	P1-6-Veh sold for: 
	P1-6-Towing: 
	P1-6-Storage: 
	P1-6-Repairs: 
	P1-6-Total of 2 (A-D): 
	P1-6-Parking Violations: 
	P1-6-Excess Fees: 
	P1-7-Zip Code-1: 
	P1-7-States-1: 
	P1-7-City-1: 
	P1-7-Telephone No: 
	P1-7-Lienholder Name: 
	P1-7-Street Address-1: 
	P1-7-Agent acting lienholder: 
	P1-7-Street Address-2: 
	P1-7-City-2: 
	P1-7-States-2: 
	P1-7-Zip Code-2: 
	P1-7-Cert Date: 
	P1-6-Cost of Selling: 
	P1-7-Reg Service no: 
	P1-7-Telephone No-2: 
	click to: 
	0: 
	1: 

	click to 1: 
	P1-7-Area Code: 
	P1-7-Area Code-2: 
	P2-2-Certified copy: Off
	P2-2-authorization from DMV6: Off
	P2-3-Declaration of Opposition: Off
	P2-2-Notices of Pending Lien Sale1: Off
	P1-5-Month: 


