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Prepared by DMV Research and Development Branch 06/24/2022 

Background  

California’s administrative license suspension program, known  as “Admin Per Se”  
(APS), requires DMV to  suspend  or revoke the driving privilege of any person  

arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of  

alcohol and drugs, who either:  

➢ Takes a chemical (blood or breath) test  which shows any of  the following:  

o  0.01% blood alcohol  concentration level (BAC) if under 21 years of age;  

o  0.01% BAC while on DUI probation;   

o  0.04% BAC while driving a commercial vehicle;   

o  0.08% or more BAC while driving a noncommercial vehicle; or  

➢ Refuses to take or fails to  complete a chemical test to  determine their BAC level 

or the drug content of their blood.  

Main effects of APS actions  (independent of any jail, fine,  or other criminal penalty  

imposed in court upon DUI conviction):  

➢ If the affected driver has a valid California driver license (DL), the DL is 

immediately  confiscated;  

➢ All affected drivers receive an Order of  Suspension/Revocation and a temporary  

DL valid for 30 days;  

➢ After  the 30-day period, one of the following license actions goes into effect:  

o  If  the chemical  test indicated  a 0.01% BAC and driver was under 21 years 

of age  

→ Suspension of 1 year.  

o  If  the chemical test  indicated a 0.04% BAC while driving a commercial 

vehicle or a 0.08% or  more BAC while driving a noncommercial vehicle:  

→ Suspension of 4 months for first offense.  

→ Suspension of 1 year for second  or higher offense in 10 years.  
o  If  the chemical test indicated  a 0.01% BAC while on DUI probation  

→ Suspension of 1 year in addition to, and  concurrent with, the APS action.  

o  If a driver refuses or fails  to complete a  chemical test:   

→ Suspension of 1 year for first offense (or 2-year revocation if on DUI  

probation).  

→ Revocation of 2 years for second  offense in 10 years (or 3-year  

revocation if on DUI  probation).  

→ Revocation of 3 years for third  or higher offense in 10 years.   
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Reinstating a license after an APS action requires:   

➢ Payment of a $125 reissue fee ($100 if under 21 years of age),   

➢ Filing proof  of financial responsibility, and  

➢ Maintaining proof of  financial responsibility for 3 years.   

License restriction options associated with APS:   

➢ Drivers who at the time of the violation were 21 years of age or older, completed  

a chemical test and  do not have outstanding license suspensions/revocations 

are eligible to apply  for either of the following:  

o  COE Restriction –  Restricted to  driving to, from, and during the  Course Of  

Employment and/or DUI program activities:   

→ Available only  to first offenders.   

→ Drivers  must serve  out a 30-day suspension period from the suspension 

effective date.   

→ Ends 6 months after suspension effective date.  

o  IID Restriction  (effective January 1, 2019)  –  Restricted to driving  a vehicle 

equipped with an Ignition Interlock Device:   

→ Available to first  and  repeat  offenders, as well as  drivers arrested while 

on probation.  

→ Drivers  must install an IID on every vehicle registered to their name and  

provide verification.  

→ Drivers may  drive immediately after the suspension effective date.  

→  Ends  4 months after suspension effective date  for first time  offenders, 12  

months for  repeat  offenders  and  drivers arrested while on probation.  

➢ Both license restriction options require:  

o  Proof of enrollment in a DUI program,  

o  Proof of financial responsibility,  

o  Payment of  a $125 reissue fee, and   

o  Downgrading  to a noncommercial DL if  the driver  held a commercial DL 

at the time of the violation.  

➢ Drivers who at the time of the violation were under 21 years of age, completed a 

chemical test and do not have outstanding license  suspensions/revocations may  

apply for a Critical Need Restriction:  

o  Available  only  to first offenders.   

o  Drivers  must serve out a 30-day suspension period from the suspension 

effective date.   

o  Drivers  must verify that a specific critical need condition exists,  and all 

other transportation is inadequate.   
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Review and hearing procedures associated with APS:  

➢ DMV automatically  conducts an administrative review of each APS action:  

o  If the review shows no basis for the APS action, it will be set aside.   

➢ Drivers have 10 days  from the receipt of the Order of Suspension/Revocation to  

request a hearing to  show that the APS action is not justified.   

o  DMV will conduct a telephone hearing unless the driver requests an in-

person hearing.   

o  If DMV cannot provide a hearing before the effective date of the APS 

action, the action will be stayed (delayed).   
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Key Findings for 2019 

Total APS Actions 

➢ In 2019, 130,058  APS actions were initiated, a  similar amount  to  2018  (131,112). After  
a  9-year  trend  of  decreases  lasting  from 2009  to  2017, it appears the total number  
of APS actions initiated might have reached a relatively stable level.  

➢ Out of  all the APS actions  initiated  in  2019, 122,835  were for drivers 21  and  older, 
whereas 7,223  were for drivers under 21. The percentage of  overall APS actions 
initiated  for younger  drivers has decreased  slightly  every  year since 2006, going  
from 11.5% to its current level of 5.6%.  

o  Removing  from the counts those APS actions that were later set  aside reveals  
a  slightly  different picture.  In  2019, the percentage of  net APS actions for  
drivers under 21  was  marginally  higher than in 2018. This was due to  a  set  
aside rate that was  more than 2  percentage points  higher in  2019  than in 
2018 (9.4% and 11.5%, respectively).  

➢ The  number  of  APS  suspension/revocation orders served  by the DMV increased  by  
24.6%  in 2019, going  from 35,958  to  44,788. This increase  was accompanied  by  a  
10.4%  reduction in  APS suspension/revocation orders served  by  law enforcement,  
from 95,154 in 2018 to 85,270 in 2019.  

o  These  changes in the  relative proportion of  orders served  by the DMV versus 
law enforcement constitute a  marked  acceleration of  a  much more  
gradual trend  dating back at least  9  years.  In  2010, only  about  1  in 5  orders  
were served  by the DMV, whereas in 2019  that proportion increased  to  more  
than 1 out  of 3.  

APS License Restrictions  

➢ A  new  option to  obtain an  APS  license  restriction became effective in 2019  for  
drivers  who  at the  time of  the violation were 21  or  older  and  completed  a  
chemical test. Previously, the  only  option was for first offenders to  obtain a  COE  
restriction after a  30-day  suspension. This type of  license restriction is only  available 
to  first offenders and  ends 6  months  after the effective date of  the APS suspension.  
As of  January 1, 2019, both first and  repeat  offenders can opt for an IID  restriction.  
This type of  license restriction can be obtained  immediately  upon installing an IID  
and  ends  4  months  after the effective date of  the APS  suspension for  first time  
offenders  (12 months for repeat  offenders).  

➢ The change in restriction options could  have played  a  role in  the overall decrease  
in APS  license  restrictions.  While  in  2018  15,261  eligible first offenders took  
advantage of the COE option, in 2019 the following restrictions were issued:  

o  5,491  first offender COE restrictions.  

o  4,911 first offender IID restrictions.  

o  2,146 repeat offender IID restrictions.  

➢ The change in restriction options resulted in an 8.5% increase in  the number of first  
offenders  who received a  full  4-month suspension  (from  57,880 in 2018 to 62,780 in 
2019) and  a  10.9%  decrease in the number of  repeat offenders who  received  a  
full 12-month suspension (from 27,409 in 2018 to 24,426 in 2019).  



    

 

 

California Administrative Per Se Facts – Page 5 of 8 

APS Refusal Rate  

➢ The percentage of  total DUI  offenders  arrested  in  2019  who  refused  a  chemical  
test rose slightly  from  8.5%  in  2018  to  8.9%  in 2019. The  refusal rate has increased  
every  year  since Missouri v. McNeely  (2013),  the Supreme  Court ruling that  
introduced  a  general  requirement of  the arresting officer obtaining  a  search  
warrant prior to initiating an involuntary blood draw.  

APS Hearings  

➢ In total,  10%  of  all actions were set  aside in  2019, a  percentage that has remained  
stable within a range of 9.1% to 10.6% over the last decade.  

➢ In 2019, about  a  third  (34.4%) of  all drivers against  whom an APS action was  
initiated  challenged that action and  were scheduled  for a  hearing  (44,763  cases  
out  of  130,058  total actions  initiated),  an  increase of  1.2%  from  the 2018  figure. The  
remaining two thirds  of APS actions were uncontested.  

➢ Of  the  contested  APS  actions scheduled  for a  hearing  in 2019,  80.8%  could  not be  
scheduled  promptly  and  resulted  in a  stay, delaying  the  onset  of  those  APS license  
actions until hearing  completion. However, nearly  all of  the APS hearings were 
eventually held and/or completed  (44,639 out  of 44,763; 99.7%).  
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Administrative Per Se Process Measures 
Total   Administrative  Per  Se  (APS)  Actions : 2018 2019  % change 

  •  Total  APS1  actions  initiated  (including  actions  later  set aside) 
               › Total  .082  APS  actions initiated 
               › Total  .013  suspensions initiated 

131,112 

123,698 

7,414 

130,058 

122,835 

7,223 

-0.80 

-0.70 

-2.58 

 •  Total   APS  actions  set aside 13,577 12,991 -4.32 

              › Total   .08  APS  actions  set aside 12,724 12,310 -3.25 

              › Total   .01  suspensions  set aside 853 681 -20.16 

 •   Total  APS  set  aside rate 10.36% 9.99% -0.37 

              › Total   .08  set  aside rate 10.29% 10.02% -0.26 

              › Total   .01  set  aside rate 11.51% 9.43% -2.08 

 •   Net total   APS  actions  taken  (excluding  actions  later  set aside) 117,535 117,067 -0.40 

              ›  Net  total  .08  APS actions 110,974 110,525 -0.40 

              ›  Net  total  .01 actions 6,561 6,542 -0.29 

 •  Total   APS  actions  taken,  suspension/revocation  order  served by: 

              › Law  enforcement 95,154 85,270 -10.39 

              › DMV 35,958 44,788 24.56 

 Net APS   Actions  by  Offender  Status/License  Classification:4

 •   Net total   APS  actions,  noncommercial drivers 115,717 115,268 -0.39 

 •   Net total  commercial   driver  license  (CDL)  APS  actions taken 1,818 1,799 -1.05 

              ›  Drivers  in commercial  vehicles 85 59 -30.59 
5  •   Net  APS  .08  actions  for  drivers  with  no priors 79,776 80,091 0.39 

              ›  4-month  license suspensions 
               ›  30-day  suspensions  plus  5-month COE6 restrictions 

57,880 

15,261 

62,780 

5,491 

8.47 

-64.02 

              ›  4-month  APS  IID  restrictions  (possibly  concurrent  with  post-conviction  IID restrictions) N/A 4,911 

              › Chemical   test refusals 6,635 6,909 4.13 

 •   Net  APS  .08  actions  taken  for drivers   with priors 31,198 30,434 -2.45 

              ›  12-month  license suspensions 27,409 24,426 -10.88 

              ›  12-month  APS  IID  restrictions  (possibly  concurrent  with  post-conviction  IID restrictions) N/A 2,146 

              ›  Revocations (Refusals) 

 •   Net  APS  .01  actions  for  drivers  submitting  to a  BAC  (evidential   or  PAS7) test 

3,789 

6,338 

3,862 

6,297 

1.93 

-0.65 

 •   Net  APS  .01  actions  for  drivers  refusing  to  submit  to  a  BAC (evidential   or  PAS) test 223 245 9.87 

 APS Chemical   Test Refusal   Process Measures: 
 •  Total   .08  and  .01  APS refusal   actions  initiated  (including  actions  later  set aside) 11,141 11,542 3.60 

 •  Total   .08 refusal   actions  set aside 479 516 7.72 

 •  Total   .01 refusal   actions  set aside 15 10 -33.33 

 •   Net total   .08  and  .01  APS refusal   actions  initiated  (excluding  actions  later  set aside) 10,647 11,016 3.47 

              ›  Net  total  .08 refusal  actions 10,424 10,771 3.33 

              ›  Net  total  .01 refusal  actions 223 245 9.87 

 •   Chemical  test  refusal  rate (including   actions  later  set aside) 8.50% 8.87% 0.38 

 •   Net  .08  APS refusal   (suspension)  actions for   subjects  with  no priors 6,635 6,909 4.13 

 •  

 •  

 Net  .08  APS refusal   (revocation)  actions for   subjects  with priors 
1  Total   Probation violation  APS  actions  initiated  (including  actions  later  set aside) 

3,789 

6,271 

3,862 

6,098 

1.93 

-2.76 
 *  For  percentages,  the  percent  change  column  has  been  corrected  to refl  ect  the  simple  difference  between  the  two  years'  percentage scores. 
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Total APS Hearings:8 
2018 2019 % change 

 •  Total   .08  and  .01  in-person or   telephone  APS  hearings scheduled 
9  •  Percentage   of total   APS  actions  resulting  in  scheduled hearings

44,213 

33.72% 

44,763 

34.42% 

1.24 

0.70 
 •  Percentage   of total   .08  and  .01  APS  hearings  resulting  in  a  stayed 10  APS action 80.55% 80.77% 0.22 

 •  Total  .08  and  .01  in-person or   telephone  APS  hearings  held and/or   completed 44,124 44,639 1.17 

        .08  Hearing Activity:  
                   ›  .08  hearings  held and/or  completed 42,349 42,926 1.36 

                   ›  .08  actions  set aside   following hearings 3,701 3,472 -6.19 

        •  Percentage   of  .08  APS  actions  set aside   following hearings 8.74% 8.09% -0.65 

 
        .01  Hearing Activity:  
                   ›  .01  hearings  held and/or  completed 1,775 1,713 -3.49 

                   ›  .01  actions  set aside   following hearings 166 147 -11.45 

        •  Percentage   of  .01  APS  actions  set aside   following hearings 9.35% 8.58% -0.77 

 APS Chemical   Test Refusal  Hearings: 
 •  Total   .08  and  .01  APS refusal   hearings scheduled 4,252 4,741 11.50 

 •  Percentage   of total  refusal   actions  resulting  in  a  scheduled hearing 38.17% 41.08% 2.91 

 
       .08 Refusal   Hearing Activity:  
                   ›  .08 refusal  hearings   held and/or  completed 4,179 4,668 11.70 

                   ›  .08 refusal   actions  set  aside  following hearings 426 479 12.44 

        •  Percentage   of  .08  APS refusal   actions  set aside   following hearings 10.19% 10.26% 0.07 

 
       .01 Refusal   Hearing Activity:  
                   ›  .01 refusal  hearings   held and/or  completed 60 55 -8.33 

                   ›  .01 refusal   actions  set  aside  following hearings 8 10 25.00 

        •  Percentage   of  .01 refusal   actions  set aside   following hearings 13.33% 18.18% 4.85 

Other   APS Activity: 
 •  

    
Total   .08  and  .01  APS dismissal   hearings  scheduled  after  meeting renewed 
  right-to-hearing requirements 36 30 -16.67 

                   ›  APS dismissal   hearings  held  and/or completed 36 30 -16.67 

                   ›  APS  actions  set  aside  following dismissal  hearings 7 11 57.14 

        •  Percentage   of  APS  actions  set aside   following dismissal  hearings 19.44% 36.67% 17.22 

 
 •   Total   .08  and  .01  Driver  Safety/Driver  Investigations scheduled11

794 754 -5.04 

                   ›  APS  Driver Safety/Driver   Investigations  held  and/or completed 771 747 -3.11 

                   ›  Actions  set aside   following  APS Driver   Safety/Driver Investigations 570 557 -2.28 

        •  Percentage   of  APS  actions  set aside   following  Driver  Safety/Driver Investigations 73.93% 74.56% 0.63 

            
 •  Total   .08  and  .01  APS departmental   reviews scheduled 588 536 -8.84 

                   ›  APS departmental  reviews   held  and/or completed 585 535 -8.55 

                   ›  APS  actions  set  aside  following departmental  review 34 46 35.29 

        •  Percentage   of  APS  actions  set aside   following departmental  reviews 5.81% 8.60% 2.79 
 *  For  percentages,  the  percent  change  column  has  been  corrected  to refl  ect  the  simple  difference  between  the  two  years'  percentage scores. 



         

                             
                           

        
                                 

                 
                                  

      
                              
                             
                       
                         
                  
                  

                             
                    

           

California Administrative Per Se Facts – Page 8 of 8 

1 APS actions (both .08 and .01) refer to actions taken in conjunction with a DUI arrest or zero tolerance detention. Probation violation APS actions are those taken 
under California Vehicle Code (CVC) § 23154. A single offense would result in concurrent actions taken for both the APS and probation violation if a violator was 
arrested for DUI while on DUI probation. 
2 .08 refers to APS actions taken against drivers aged 21 or over arrested with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) equal to or in excess of the .08% per se level, or on 
the basis of a chemical test refusal. Such an action is taken in conjunction with a DUI arrest. 
3 .01 refers to APS suspensions taken against drivers under the age of 21 with a BAC of .01% or greater or on the basis of a chemical test refusal, and are not necessarily 
taken in conjunction with a DUI arrest. 
4 All entries in this category exclude actions later set aside but, where possible, include actions taken on the basis of either a chemical test refusal or a BAC test result. 
5 Prior DUI convictions or APS actions consist of any such conviction or action where the violation occurred within 10 years prior to the current violation (CVC §13353.3). 
6 A Course of Employment (COE; enacted 1/1/95) restriction allow driving to, from, and during the course-of-employment and to and from DUI program. 
7 PAS is a Preliminary Alcohol Screening test which is considered legally sufficient evidence to impose an action under the provisions of the zero tolerance laws. 
8 These figures include refusal hearings but exclude Driver Safety/Driver Investigation hearings, subsequent APS dismissal hearings, and departmental reviews. 
9 Both numerator and denominator include those actions later set aside as a result of the hearing. 
10 A stay indicates that the onset of the suspension action was delayed pending completion of a hearing. The hearings scheduled in these counts may be for actions 
that were initiated anytime in the past but for which the hearing was scheduled or held in the reporting year. 
11 These cases may or may not have involved a hearing request. 





Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		2019 APS Fact Sheet.pdf









		Report created by: 

		



		Organization: 

		







[Enter personal and organization information through the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 2



		Passed manually: 0



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 0



		Passed: 30



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Needs manual check		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Needs manual check		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Passed		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Passed		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Passed		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Passed		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top



