

Vehicle Industry News VIN 2020–17

Miscellaneous Fee Increases

DIGITAL INFORMATION BRANCH • CUSTOMER SERVICES DIVISION • © 2020 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Issue Date: December 21, 2020

New Information

Effective January 1, 2021, the following fees will increase based on the consumer price index (CPI).

Procedures

Programming is in place to calculate the individual fee increases:

Fee Code	Service or Transaction Fee	Affected California Vehicle Code Sections (§)	Current Fee Amount	New Fee Amount
001 101 201	Registration	§9250	\$59	\$61
301				
002 102 202 302	California Highway Patrol (CHP)	§9250.8(a) §9250.13(a)(1) not affected	\$27 (\$4 and \$23)	\$28 (\$5 and \$23)
002	Off-highway vehicle (OHV) CHP	§38225.4 §38225.5	\$8 (\$4) (\$4)	\$10 (\$5) (\$5)
013 113 213 313	Privately-owned school bus (PSB) Registration/licensing Education-related nonprofit purpose	§9102.5(a) §9102.5(c)	\$22	\$23
016	Moped original	§5036	\$22	\$23
029	Special equipment (SE) original/transfer-pursuant to CVC §5014 or §5016.5 (SE transfer is covered under this fee code as a new owner must apply and qualify)	\$5014(f) \$9261(a) \$9261(b) \$9261(c)	\$22	\$23
032	One trip permit	§9258	\$22	\$23
035	OHV (Motorcycle) transportation permit	§38232	\$22	\$23
045	SE renewal-pursuant to CVC §5014 or §5016.5	§5014(f) §9261(d)	\$22	\$23

VIN 2020-17

Page 2 of 4

Procedures, *continued*

Fee Code	ontinued Service or Transaction Fee	Affected California Vehicle Code Sections (§)	Current Fee Amount	New Fee Amount
079 179	CHP Commercial Vehicle Registration Act (CVRA)	§9250.8(a), §9250.8(b), not affected	\$45 (\$4 ,	\$46 (\$5 ,
279 379		§9250.13(2), not affected, and §9250.13(a)(1) not affected	\$9, \$9, and \$23)	\$9, \$9, and \$23)
296 297 298 299	Road Improvement Fee (RIF)	§9250.6 (b)	\$100	\$110
316 317 318 319	Transportation Improvement Fee (TIF)	California Revenue and Taxation Code §11052(b) If the vehicle value is: • \$0-\$4,999 • \$5,000-\$24,999 • \$25,000-\$34,999 • \$35,000-\$59,999 • \$60,000 or more	\$27 (no change) (\$54 \$107 \$161 \$188)	\$27 (\$55 \$110 \$165 \$192)
402	Title only	§9254	\$22	\$23
403	OHV transfer	\$38255(a) \$38255(b) \$38255(c)	\$22	\$23
405	Moped transfer	§5036	\$22	\$23
411	Salvage certificate	§11515	\$22	\$23
412	OHV salvage certificate	§11515	\$22	\$23
421	Duplicate ownership certificate	§9265(a)	\$22	\$23
422	Duplicate registration	§9265(a)	\$22	\$23
423	Duplicate license plate	§9265(b)	\$22	\$23
424	OHV duplicate ownership certificate	§38260	\$22	\$23
425	OHV duplicate registration	§38260	\$22	\$23
428	Moped duplicate identification (ID) card	§5036	\$22	\$23
430	Prisoner of War (POW) duplicate license plate	§9265(b)	\$22	\$23
432	SE duplicate ID	§9265(a)	\$22	\$23
433	Horseless carriage/historical vehicle/historical motorcycle duplicate license plate	\$5004 \$9265	\$22	\$23

VIN 2020-17 Page 3 of 4

Procedures, continued

Fee Code	ontinued Service or Transaction Fee	Affected California Vehicle Code Sections (§)	Current Fee Amount	New Fee Amount
434	Duplicate salvage certificate-pursuant to CVC §11515	§9265(a)	\$22	\$23
435	OHV duplicate salvage certificate-pursuant to CVC §11515	§9265(a)	\$22	\$23
441	Substitute license plate	§9265(b)	\$22	\$23
442	Substitute sticker	§9265(b)	\$22	\$23
443	OHV substitute plate	§38260	\$22	\$23
446	Moped substitute plate	§9265(b)	\$22	\$23
448	SE substitute plate	§9265(b)	\$22	\$23
456	Partial year registration (PYR) service	§9702	\$22	\$23
457	Nonresident original service	§9252(a)	\$22	\$23
458	Nonresident reregistration	§9252(a)	\$22	\$23
465	OHV planned nonoperation (PNO) service	§38121(b)	\$22	\$23
472	VLF Refund Service	R&TC 10902(c)	\$22	\$23
474	PNO service	§4604(b)	\$22	\$23
484	Nonrepairable certificate	§11515.2	\$22	\$23
485	Duplicate nonrepairable certificate	§11515.2	\$22	\$23
488	Permanent trailer ID (PTI) paper title	§9254	\$22	\$23
542	OHV transfer penalty	§38265(a)	\$22	\$23
621	Prejudgment attachment (filing/indexing notice of lien and certificate fee for notice of attachment)	California Code of Civil Procedures §§488.385(b) and 488.385(c)	\$22	\$23
627	Nonresident commuter permit	§6700.25(e)	\$22	\$23
680	International Registration Plan (IRP) CHP	§9250.8 (a) , §9250.13(a)(1) not affected	\$27 (\$4 and \$23)	\$28 (\$5 and \$23)
693	IRP/CHP	§9250.8(a) , §9250.8(b), not affected, §9250.13(2), not affected, and §9250.13(a)(1) not affected	\$45 (\$4 , \$9, \$9, and \$23)	\$46 (\$5 , \$9, \$9, and \$23)

VIN 2020-17

Page 4 of 4

Procedures, *continued*

Fee Code	Service or Transaction Fee	Affected California Vehicle Code Sections (§)	Current Fee Amount	New Fee Amount
910	Firm substitute special	§9265(b)	\$22	\$23
	license plate			
911	Firm duplicate registration	§9265(a)	\$22	\$23
912	Firm substitute sticker	§9265(b)	\$22	\$23

Background

Legislation provided that as of January 1, 2005, and every January 1 thereafter, fee amounts will increase when a calculation using the California CPI for the prior year by the California Department of Finance is equal to or greater than \$0.50.

Reference

California Vehicle Code §§1678 and 1685

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available at **dmv.ca.gov** under Vehicle Industry Services, was made via the California DMV Automated Email Alert System in December 2020.

Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo.