

Vehicle Industry News VIN 2020-19

Tehama County AVA Reinstatement

DIGITAL INFORMATION BRANCH • CUSTOMER SERVICES DIVISION • © 2020 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Issue Date: December 23, 2020

New Information

The Abandoned Vehicle Abatement (AVA) program will be reinstated in Tehama County for vehicles with an expiration date of January 1, 2021, and after.

Procedures

Process registration applications as normal. Programming will generate the correct county fees.

Background

On January 1, 2017, the California State Controller's Office suspended the AVA program in Tehama County.

Currently, the Department of Motor Vehicles assesses a base fee of \$1 on all vehicles registered within a participating county for the purpose of funding their respective AVA programs. An additional \$2, for a total of \$3, applies to Commercial Vehicle Registration Act vehicles registered in those participating counties.

Reference

California Vehicle Code §9250.7

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available at **dmv.ca.gov** under Vehicle Industry Services, was made via the California DMV Automated Email Alert System in December 2020.

Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo.