

Vehicle Industry News VIN 2022–01 County Fee Changes

DIGITAL INFORMATION BRANCH • DIGITAL SERVICES DIVISION • © 2022 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Issue Date: January 04, 2022

New Information

The vehicle theft deterrence, investigation and prosecution, prosecution of driving under the influence (Auto Theft/DUI), and Fingerprint Identification (FID) programs fee collection by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will change as follows.

Effective with vehicle registration fees due on October 1, 2021, or after:

- Orange County (county code [CC] 30) will increase its Auto Theft/DUI program fees from \$1 to \$2 for autos and from \$2 to \$4 for Commercial Vehicle Registration Act (CVRA) vehicles.
- Contra Costa County (CC 07) and Riverside County (CC 33) will increase their FID program fees from \$1 to \$2 for autos and from \$3 to \$6 for CVRA vehicles.

Procedures

Registration applications are processed as normal. Programming will generate the correct county fees.

Background

Currently, DMV assesses a base fee of \$1 on all vehicles registered within a participating county to fund its respective Auto Theft/DUI and FID programs. An additional \$2, for a total of \$3, applies to CVRA vehicles registered in those participating counties.

Vehicle Code (VC) §9250.14 allows participating California counties to increase the Auto Theft/DUI and CVRA Auto Theft/DUI fees. VC §9250.19 allows participating California counties to collect FID and CVRA FID fees.

Reference

Vehicle Code §§9250.14 and 9250.19

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available at **dmv.ca.gov** under Vehicle Industry Services, was made via the California DMV Automated Email Alert System in January 2022.

Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo.