
 

 

   

 

  

   

 A letter of authorization from the Department of Motor Vehicles. 
 
 A Release of Interest, REG 658, signed by the declarant on the Declaration of Opposition. 

 

 
 

 

   

  

LIEN SALE SECTION 
P. O. BOX 932317 

SACRAMENTO, CA 94232-3170 

NOTICE OF PENDING LIEN SALE 
FOR VEHICLE VALUED OVER $4,000

OR
 FROM A SELF-SERVICE STORAGE FACILITY 

My authority to hold the lien sale is based on one of the following: 

A judgment rendered by ________________________________________ Court. 

COMPLETE IN FULL  (Civil Code §3071) 
LICENSE NUMBER STATE REGISTERED LIC. EXP. DATE 

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN) YEAR MODEL MAKE 

ENGINE NUMBER (REQUIRED FOR MOTORCYCLE) BODY TYPE 

REGISTERED 
OWNER 

LEGAL 
OWNER 

INTERESTED 
PARTIES 

DATE OF SALE TIME OF SALE DATE DMV AUTHORIZATION LETTER 

LOCATION OF SALE (STREET ADDRESS) 

CITY   STATE 

NOTE: THE VEHICLE SHALL BE AT THE SITE OF THE SALE. 
I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of
California that the foregoing is true and correct. I further certify (or declare) 
under penalty of perjury that the lien sale was conducted in accordance with 
the requirements of California Military and Veterans Code §§407, 408, 409.1, 
and 409.3, and with the requirements of §§3952, 3953, and 3958 of Title 50 of 
the United States Code. 
DATE  LIENHOLDER’S OR AGENT’S (ACTING FOR LIENHOLDER) SIGNATURE 

LIENHOLDER’S NAME (PRINT) DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER 

STREET ADDRESS 
( ) 

CITY   STATE  ZIP 

AGENT ACTING FOR LIENHOLDER (PRINT NAME) REG. SERVICE NUMBER 

AGENT’S ADDRESS 

REG 280 (REV. 1/2019) WWW 

PURPOSE OF A LIEN SALE: 
A Lien Sale under Chapter 6.5 of the California Civil Code is held for 
the purpose of satisfying an unpaid towing, storage, or repair bill. 
LIEN LIMITATIONS: 
California Vehicle Code §22851 and Civil Code §3068(c) limit the amount 
of lien for work, services, or storage to the following unless the consent 
of the holder of the legal title was obtained before any such work or 
service was performed. 
1. Work or Services to $1500. 
2. Storage: 

a. Civil Code §3068(c) — $1250 if the lienholder has applied to DMV 
for lien authorization pursuant to Civil Code §3071 within 30 days 
after storage commences. Otherwise, only $1025 for storage. 

b. Vehicle Code §22851 — 120 days if the lienholder has applied 
for lien authorization pursuant to Civil Code §3071 within 30 days 
after taking possession of the vehicle. Otherwise, only 60 day’s 
worth of storage. 

Storage charges or trailer rental space fees in excess of 60 days cannot 
be considered a part of the lien unless California Vehicle Code §10650 
and §10652 have been complied with by the person claiming the lien. 
California Vehicle Code §10650 and §10652, require the keeper of the 
garage or trailer park to: 
1. Keep a written record of every vehicle of a type subject to registration 

that has been stored over 12 hours. 
2. Report any vehicle stored for 30 days to the Department of Justice 

in Sacramento by receipted mail. This is not required if the vehicle 
was stored by a law enforcement officer. 

HOW TO REDEEM THE VEHICLE: 
The vehiclemay be redeemed by paying the lien amount to the lienholder 
before the sale date; however, a vehicle sold under Civil Code §3071 
(value over $4,000 or from a self-service storage facility) must be held 
available by the lienholder for redemption for 10 days after the sale date. 

NOTE:  No person shall have the benefit of any lien for labor or materials 
or the right to sue on a contract for motor vehicle repairs done 
by him/her unless that person has a valid registration (license) 
issued by the Bureau of Automotive Repair (Business and 
Professions Code §9884.16). 

NOTE: California registered vehicles may have prior year fees and 
penalties due against them. It is suggested you get an estimate 
of these fees from your local DMV. 
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